The North East Australian Football League (NEAFL) is pleased to announce Aspley premiership coach John Blair will once again lead the NEAFL representative side in 2017.

Blair, an AFLQ Hall of Fame member, will be supported by Peter Ryan (Aspley), John Harper (Canberra) and Tom Morrison (Sydney University) when the NEAFL takes on the Tasmanian State League (TSL) in June.

Redland Football Manager, Martin King, will once again assume the role of the NEAFL Chairman of Selectors.

NEAFL Operations Manager, Luke Gatti, said it was pleasing Blair and King will team up once again to bring together the best players of the competition.

“John and Martin have been integral members of the NEAFL competition since its inception in 2011, and their wealth of knowledge and experience is invaluable to our representative program,” he said.

“It is exciting to have new Sydney University coach Tom Morrison on board for the first time. As a former player and now coach of a NEAFL side, it will be a great learning experience from one of our up-and-coming coaches.

“Together with two previous representative assistant coaches in Peter and John, we are confident this panel will be able to deliver another successful representative team in 2017.”

The NEAFL has twice played Tasmania, losing their first contest in 2014 before the NEAFL broke through for a first ever representative victory as a single league the following year.

Gatti said it is important the NEAFL representative side continues to reflect the growth of the competition.

“Our competition spans across two states and two territories, and the challenge has always been for our players to come together as one,” he said.

“Our last representative victory was an important milestone for our competition, and we are looking forward to rising to the challenge again this year against a league we have a lot of respect for, and have built a great rivalry against.”

Tasmania will host the NEAFL at Blundstone Arena in Hobart on June 10.


2017 NEAFL Representative Coaching Panel

Head Coach: John Blair (Aspley)
Assistant Coach: Peter Ryan (Aspley)
Assistant Coach: John Harper (Canberra)
Assistant Coach: Tom Morrison (Sydney University)
Chairman of Selectors: Marty King (Redland – Football Manager)





Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (