Michael Manteit in action for Southport. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL.

By TOM BOSWELL - goldcoastbulletin.com.au


Southport midfielder Michael Manteit has added to his NEAFL premiership success by winning two of the Sharks biggest awards.

Manteit was named the Doc Mackenzie Medallist — the club’s best and fairest title — last Wednesday night as well as the Wally Fankhauser Memorial Trophy.

The former Sydney University player arrived at Southport in 2018 and was consistently among the team’s best throughout their incredible rise to the top of the ladder.

Manteit decided to join Southport after friend and former Brisbane Lions player Josh Clayton was offered a spot on the list.

They were part of a group of four friends who played junior football together at Sandringham Dragons in Victoria.

Co-captain Andrew Boston finished runner-up while Ryan Davis, who won the Andrew Ireland Medal for best on ground in the grand final last weekend, won dual awards too, the Most Determined Player title and Gerry Carmody Best Player in Finals Award.

Tyler Roos was named the Ken McDonald Most Dedicated Player and Andrew Gross the Bill Wood Club Person of the Year while Clayton won the Coach’s Award.



Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/neaflofficial).