• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21

11.13 (79)

12.15 (87)

5.7 (37)

25.15 (165)

7.6 (48)

15.10 (100)







11.13 (79)


12.15 (87)

5.7 (37)


25.15 (165)

7.6 (48)


15.10 (100)

Clubs with a Bye

Matt Shaw in action for Southport. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL.

Shaw, Rowbottom take over top spots in NEAFL MVP voting

Southport midfielder Matt Shaw has jumped to the top of the NEAFL MVP leaderboard after polling maximum votes in the Sharks’ thrilling victory over Aspley on Saturday.

Shaw collected 27 disposals, 12 marks, five inside 50s, six rebound 50s and booted two goals as Southport broke a seven-year hoodoo at Voxson Oval with an eight-point win.

The former Gold Coast and Carlton utility leads the race by one vote over Sydney draftee James Rowbottom, who was the only other player in Round 2 to attract 10 votes.

Rowbottom starred in the Swans’ win over Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium on Sunday, kicking three goals amongst 28 disposals and six inside 50s.

Meanwhile, Brisbane forward Ben Keays polled nine votes after six goals in the Lions’ dominant victory over the GIANTS.

Sydney University goalkicker Tristan Davies was awarded eight votes after his seven-goal haul against NT Thunder – taking his tally to 12 majors in the first two rounds.

Last year’s NEAFL Leading Goalkicker Award winner, Matt Hammelmann, was the top vote-getter in Redland’s upset victory against Canberra after kicking five goals in the Bombers’ 60-point triumph.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.


Brisbane v GIANTS

9: Ben Keays (Brisbane)

5: Ryan Lester (Brisbane)

5: Corey Lyons (Brisbane)

4: Tom Cutler (Brisbane)

3: Mitch Hinge (Brisbane)

2: Keidean Coleman (Brisbane)

2: Jackson Hately (GIANTS)

Sydney University v NT Thunder

8: Tristan Davies (Sydney Uni)

5: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)

5: Jack Dimery (Sydney Uni)

4: Jake Veale (Sydney Uni)

3: Bailey Stewart (Sydney Uni)

2: Jake Bartholomaues (Sydney Uni)

2: Braedon McLean (NT Thunder)

1: Nick Foster (Sydney Uni)

Redland v Canberra

7: Matt Hammelmann (Redland)

6: Jack Rolls (Redland)

6: Tom Salter (Redland)

5: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)

4: Clay Cameron (Redland)

2: Craig Malone (Redland)

Aspley v Southport

10: Matt Shaw (Southport)

4: James Ives (Aspley)

4: Mackenzie Willis (Southport)

4: Mitch Johnson (Southport)

3: Gavin Grose (Aspley)

2: Lonnie Hampton (Aspley)

2: Tyler Roos (Southport)

1: Matthew Payne (Aspley)

Gold Coast v Sydney

10: James Rowbottom (Sydney)

6: George Horlin-Smith (Gold Coast)

5: Ryan Clarke (Sydney)

4: James Bell (Sydney)

2: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)

2: Josh Corbett (Gold Coast)

1: Darcy Cameron (Sydney)



19: Matt Shaw (Southport)

18: James Rowbottom (Sydney)

14: Jake Veale (Sydney Uni)

14: Tristan Davies (Sydney Uni)

12: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)

11: Tom Cutler (Brisbane)

10: James Rose (Sydney)

10: Ryan Lester (Brisbane)

9: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)

9: Ben Keays (Brisbane)

Related News

Get The App

The Official NEAFL App contains all the latest news and videos from the League and around the clubs. Keep up to date with live scores and live streaming, plus team and player stats as they happen throughout the game.


NEAFL is here to provide a stage for talented players to shine. Sweats and tears of excitement are what the players live for.