Tyler Roos in action for Southport. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL.



Southport midfielder Tyler Roos has joined the NEAFL MVP Award leaders after polling maximum votes in the Sharks’ close win over NT Thunder on Saturday.

Transitioning from defence to midfield this season, Roos was superb in Southport’s 11-point victory, collecting 38 disposals, seven tackles and five clearances; jumping to fifth place after being the only player in Round 6 to attract maximum votes.

NT Thunder star Abraham Ankers also moved in to the top 10, polling eight votes after 24 disposals and two goals.

Meanwhile, James Rowbottom moved back to second place on the leaderboard following nine votes for his role in Sydney’s win over Sydney Uni. Rowbottom (27 disposals) and teammate Ryan Clarke (42 disposals) were key instigators in the 22-point win.

Brisbane duo Nick Robertson and Lewis Taylor shared the most votes (eight each) in the Lions’s dominant win over Canberra, whilst Gold Coast pair Will Brodie and Tom Nicholls polled five votes each as the SUNS beat Aspley at Voxson Oval.

Southport star Matt Shaw still leads tops the leaderboard despite not polling any votes this round.

The NEAFL Most Valuable Player Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the MVP voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 12 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the end of season awards night.



Sydney v Sydney University
9: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
8: Ryan Clarke (Sydney)
5: Lewis Stevenson (Sydney Uni)
3: Jake Bartholomaues (Sydney Uni)
2: Harry Reynolds (Sydney)
2: Sam Wicks (Sydney)
1: Will Sierakowski (Sydney Uni)

Canberra v Brisbane
8: Nick Robertson (Brisbane)
8: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
6: Lewis Taylor (Brisbane)
5: Allen Christensen (Brisbane)
3: Alex Smout (Canberra)

Aspley v Gold Coast
5: Will Brodie (Gold Coast)
5: Tom Nicholls (Gold Coast)
4: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
4: Jack Leslie (Gold Coast)
3: Jacob Dawson (Gold Coast)
3: Jackson Allen (Aspley)
2: Josh Schoenfeld (Gold Coast)
2: Michael Rischitelli (Gold Coast)
1: Sam Day (Gold Coast)
1: Tom Templeton (Aspley)

Southport v NT Thunder
10: Tyler Roos (Southport)
8: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
6: Josh Hall (Southport)
2: Brodie Murdoch (Southport)
2: Ben Rioli (NT Thunder)
1: Michael Manteit (Southport)
1: Seb Tape (Southport)



36: Matt Shaw (Southport)
27: James Rowbottom (Sydney)
24: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
23: Ben Keays (Brisbane)
23: Tyler Roos (Southport)
22: Alex Smout (Canberra)
21: Adam Gulden (Sydney Uni)
20: Abraham Ankers (NT Thunder)
19: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)
19: Ryan Clarke (Sydney)


Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/neaflofficial).