Josh Clayton polled 10 MVP votes against the Students. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL.



The 2018 NEAFL MVP Award race has heated up with the top five players now separated by only six votes after a big round of voting.

Aspley’s Matthew Payne (10 votes), Southport’s Josh Clayton (10) and Canberra’s Mitch Maguire (eight) all had top performances in Round 10 to create tight competition at the top of the leaderboard.

Current leader, Southport’s Andrew Boston, polled four votes against Sydney University to maintain first place on 46 votes, with Payne (45) moving to second, Maguire (44) third and Clayton (42) fourth.

Brisbane’s Tom Bell (40) did not poll after injury sustained in the first quarter of their loss to Canberra.

It is the second consecutive 10-vote performance for Payne, who collected 34 disposals, seven clearances and nine inside 50s against NT Thunder, while Clayton amassed 33 disposals in the Sharks 110-point win over the Students.

Maguire continued his superb season for the Demons with his 28 disposals playing a crucial role in their 22-point win over Brisbane, while teammate Alex Smout polled nine after 35 disposals and eight clearances.

Meanwhile, GIANTS defender Adam Kennedy capped off a stunning return from a knee reconstruction with the maximum 10 votes for his 35 disposals and two goals in their victory over Gold Coast.

Redland midfielder Tom Salter (32 disposals, 10 inside 50s) and Sydney defender Nic Newman (27 disposals, six clearances) split the most votes with six each in the Swans 22-point win.

In the NEAFL goalkicking race, Redland’s Matt Hammelmann added two goals to his tally, but his lead was chopped to five majors after Southport’s Mitch Johnson booted five against Sydney University.

The NEAFL MVP Award is presented to the player uniquely judged the best in the competition by a combination of umpire and coaches votes.

The votes are submitted post-game cast on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis. As such, the maximum amount of votes a single player can earn per match is 10 – courtesy of the maximum five votes from both umpires and coaches.

The progress of the NEAFL MVP Award voting is published on the NEAFL website for the first 16 rounds of the season, but withheld from that point on until the winner is revealed at the NEAFL MVP Awards Ceremony on August 26.

See the full Round 10 votes below.



Redland v Sydney

6: Tom Salter (Redland)
6: Nic Newman (Sydney)
5: James Rose (Sydney)
5: Colin O’Riordan (Sydney)
4: Jack Rolls (Redland)
2: Adrian Williams (Redland)
2: Aliir Aliir (Sydney)

Southport v Sydney University

10: Josh Clayton (Southport)
5: Craig Bird (Sydney Uni)
4: Andrew Boston (Southport)
4: Mitch Johnson (Southport)
3: Rob Clements (Southport)
2: Dylan Fyfe (Southport)
1: Lee Dale (Southport)
1: Ethan Reeves (Southport)

Canberra v Brisbane

9: Alex Smout (Canberra)
8: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
4: Angus Baker (Canberra)
3: Isaac Taylor (Canberra)
2: Josh Walker (Brisbane)
2: Rhys Mathieson (Brisbane)
1: Andrew Swan (Canberra)
1: Ryan Bastinac (Brisbane)

GIANTS v Gold Coast

10: Adam Kennedy (Giants)
6: Jarryd Lyons (Gold Coast)
6: Jeremy Finalyson (Giants)
3: Matt Buntine (Giants)
3: Brent Daniels (Giants)
2: Josh Schoenfeld (Gold Coast)

Aspley v NT Thunder

10: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
7: Ben Warren (Aspley)
7: Jake Spencer (Aspley)
3: Joe Anderson (NT Thunder)
2: Will Gowers (Aspley)
1: Darren Ewing (NT Thunder)



46: Andrew Boston (Southport)
45: Matthew Payne (Aspley)
44: Mitch Maguire (Canberra)
42: Josh Clayton (Southport)
40: Tom Bell (Brisbane)
35: Nic Newman (Sydney)
33: Andrew Swallow (Aspley)
33: Dan Robinson (Sydney)
31: Tom Young (Sydney Uni)
31: Michael Barlow (Gold Coast)


33: Matt Hammelmann (Redland)
28: Mitch Johnson (Southport)
27: Darren Ewing (NT Thunder)
21: Jono Freeman (Aspley)
19: Adam Sambono (NT Thunder)
18: Jacob Derickx (Sydney Uni)
18: Wade Hancock (Southport)
16: Jackson Paine (Redland)
13: Aaron Christensen (Redland)
13: Ben Fulford (Canberra)




Join our NEAFL Tipping Competition for your chance to win cash! Register here.


Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (