Ryan Hebron in action for Sydney Uni. Photo: TJ Yelds/NEAFL.



Star defender Ryan Hebron has taken out Sydney University’s highest individual honour with his first Driscoll Medal at the club’s awards ceremony on Friday night.

The 21-year-old, who featured in every one of the Students 19 games this season, finished first in the best-and-fairest voting ahead of ruckman Sam Tagliabue and forward Jake Derickx.

This caps off another outstanding year for Hebron, which included his second NEAFL Team of the Year selection and an invite to the AFL State Draft Combine, which took place this over the weekend in Melbourne.

He was ranked No.1 in the competition for marks and averaged 20 disposals, 8.5 marks and 4.5 rebound 50s – all career-highs – per game.

Hebron’s first Driscoll Medal comes after a breakout season in 2017, where the young gun was awarded a University Blue after a year which included NEAFL representative and Team of the Year honours, joint-winner of the Students’ Rising Star Award, and finished third in the Driscoll Medal.

In other categories, captain Tim Barton was awarded the NEAFL Players’ Player, while Darcy Baron-Hay took home the Clinton Cole Scholar of the Year award following an outstanding academic performance over his last two semesters.

Jake Bartholomaues won two awards including the newly named Chas Wilkinson Medal (Rising Star Award) for his breakout season, along with the Club’s NEAFL Development Award.

First year squad member Sam Barkley was awarded the 2018 Coaches Award after cementing his spot down back for The Students this year.



Don’t forget to download our free NEAFL App, featuring live Champion Data stats, player bios and more! Available now from the Google Play and Apple stores.

Have your say! Follow the NEAFL on Twitter (@neaflofficial), Instagram (@neaflofficial) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/neaflofficial).